Posted by: brainyape | May 9, 2009

“If you don’t believe in God, why not commit suicide?”

shinyhppyppl1

How many times have we heard this poppycock?

“There can no no hope without God”.
“Life is empty and meaningless without God”.
“Belief in God makes your life richer”.
“God gives life a meaning/purpose/etc.”
“How can you even get out of bed in the morning if you don’t believe in God?”.

Best of all, my personal favorite:

“If you don’t believe in God, why not kill yourself?”

I could go on, but the point is clear. These “gems” come from the faithful as well as the ecclesiastical hierarchy with such conviction that they at times seem shocked, to see we can live seemingly normal lives without God/Jesus/Yahweh/Allah/Buddha/Brahma/etc. 

I think it may help to take a look at this data.

According to the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, out of the 10 happiest nations in the world, all (with the possible exception of Ireland) can be classified as secular or highly secular. In fact, few nations are less religious than Denmark, the Netherlands, or Norway.

Notably absent from the list are the most devoutly religious: Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Mexico, and the Philippines.

I hope that paternalistic people who claim that life is empty and hopeless without gods will be willing to act like adults, if only once… but I am not holding my breath.

Brainyape

The Cleveland Freethinkers

(“Shiny Happy People”  image by Donna Cymek)

Responses

  1. There does seem to be a correlation there.

    However, I do know quite a few religious folk who are seemingly quite content. I would guess that the feeling that their lives are in “God’s hands” brings them security & happiness.

    On the other hand, I have known some who are more “off the deep end” with their religion- they tend to be either brooding & sort of miserable, or subject to a type of “manufactured euphoria”.

  2. If god is imaginary, delusional, It’s better to die with the bitter taste of realty….
    I don’t think people need to believe in good to have a reason to live.Because life will always find a way. And realty is often a true answer.

  3. When I die, I would like to go out with a taste of reality that is not so bitter- such as knowing that someone (real person, not mythological god) loves me & will miss me. I guess that would be the atheist equivalent of religious peoples’ fairytale heaven.


Leave a Reply

Categories

